Hogan Mathematics Award

Walter Edwin Hogan

The Hogan Mathematics Award is presented in honor of the late Dr. Walter Edwin Hogan, to the senior mathematics major with high achievement in upper-level mathematics courses and with active participation in department activities.

Dr. Hogan was born in Izard County, Arkansas in 1872 and received a somewhat haphazard education in whatever schools were available in the general area. He was determined to receive a college education and entered Hendrix College in 1893, graduating with a B.A. degree in 1897.

For three years, he taught and recruited students for Sloan Hendrix Academy in Imboden, Arkansas, and did graduate work at the University of Chicago. In 1900 he returned to Hendrix as Professor of Mathematics and German.

In 1910 he was called to Nashville, Tennessee, to become Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education of The Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In the church merger of 1938-40, he became Treasurer of the Board of Education of the Methodist Church, retiring in 1944.

He received a Masters of Arts Degree from George Peabody College in 1917 and was awarded an honorary Doctorate by Hendrix in 1932. His wife, Mary Young Hogan, attended both Galloway and Hendrix. They were married by Dr. A.C. Millar, former President of Hendrix.

Throughout his life, which ended in 1949, Dr. Hogan never lost his love for, nor interest in, Hendrix College. The Hogan Mathematics Award was established in 1913 and is awarded yearly.


2014Kaleigh Clary
Grace Trees
2013Innocent Bushayija
Sarah Pullen
2012Hannah Flatau
Luke Kressin
2011Dana Callaway
William Jay Porter
2010Drew Tillis
Henry Wang
2009no award
2008Henry Phillips
2007Thomas Przybylinski
2006C Thomas Christie
2005no award
2004Peter Horn
2003Jared Williams
2002Elizabeth Fite
2001Ben Goodwin
2000Elizabeth Loggins
1999no award
1998Shiloh Harder
Brian Raines
1997Diana T. Hua
Jennifer R. Powell
1996John Wade Satterfield
Donna R. Sword
1995Kevin R. Hutson
Lars K. Seme
1994Scott M. Wagner
1993Jared H. Grigsby
1992no award
1991Michael Daniel Gilliam
Mark John Lancaster
1990Cristy Leigh Creger
Carla M. Woods
1989Sheri Jordan
1988Carol Ann Parker
1987Jody Dawn Novak
1986James Buford Hart
1985Kevin Lynn Shirley
Richard Kyle Wofford
1984Karen Anderson
Grey Williams
1983Bianca Hearn
Karen Shirley
1982Jerry Coker
Carol Smith
1981Mike Pinter
Sandra Cousins
1980Cassandra Scrimshire
1979Lisa Orton
Gene Weber
1978Mark Burton
Alma E. Posey
1977Donald M. Hayman
William R Orton, III
1976Michael G. Tiefenback
1975Patricia Guinn
John Tiller
1974Cassandra Cox
John Tiller
1973John Lovett
John Tiller
1972Marilyn Martin
Keith Berry
1971John Lovett
1970Evan Green Houston, Jr.
1969John Gannaway
Phillip Parker
1968Evan Green Houston, Jr.
1967Charles Robert Engles
1966Robert Curran Frese
1965Tommy Kay Teague
1964Lawrence Samuel Barden
1963Russel Gene Brasher
1962Tommy Kay Teague
1961William Cazort Moose
1960Thomas Ray Caplinger
1959Roger Wightman Mitchell
1958Richard Dowell Byrd
1957Richard Dowell Byrd
1956Robert Benton Nelson
1955Mansel Hillard Baker
1954John Ralph Reed
1953William Enoch Wilson
1952John Ralph Reed
1951Martha Rilley
1950Elizabeth Ann Terrell
1949Richard Dixon Worley
1948Donald Alan Gorsline
1947Donald Alan Gorsline
1946Jean Frances
1945Irma Ann Ward
1944Ada Lorine Ryland
1943Alfred Byron Nimocks, Jr.
1942Walter Wilson Hoy
1941Donald Earl Robinson
1940Katherine Frances Cahill
1939Iva Lee Henry
1938Virginia Anne Rice
1937Napoleon Montgomery Smith
1936Juanita Griffin
1935William Francis Long
1934George Pickard McKnight
1933Thomas McKinnie Sanders
1932John Wayne Daugherty
1931Pearl Hughes
1930James Lesley Hale
1929Samuel Isaac Bratton
1928Robert Foster Young
1927Robert Morris Short
1926Edna Bryant
1925Thomas Gwyn Bratton
1924Oris E. McCullough
1923Charles Fay Bratton
1922Margaret Pittman
1921Ralph McDonald
1920Lillian Brooksher House
1919James Frank Clark
1918Ildrem Powers Daniel
1917Edley Wainright Martin
1916James Martin Hill
1915Walter Anderson Hearn
1914Benjamin O. Womble
1913Willie Reason Stephens

T.H. Ware Mathematics Award

The T.H. Ware Mathematics Award predates the Hogan Award and was named for Rev. T.H. Ware. Rev. Ware was a financial agent (today's term might be development officer) for the college in 1892-93. He served on the Board of Trustees for 23 years.

1898C.N. Clark
1899J.B. Greeson
1900G. Murphy
1901W.L. Oliver
1902S.S. Jefferies
1903R.E. Holloway
1904S. Kirkpatrick
1906J.A. Youngblood
1908C.H. Nelson
1910W.P. Davidson
1911W.E. Laseter
1912J.R. Burton